Robins' Bread

I've been admiring these spindle fruits for a while. Generally a flower or fruit for me is not enough, I like to have a creature in my shot as well. I was wondering, as I approached the bush, whether it would be catching the morning sun and thinking how lovely it would be if a bird was perching in it. A robin flitted, landed and started scoffing the bright orange berries. I have just read that the tree is known as Robins' Bread. :) My pic has a natural vignette as I shot through field maple leaves.

Spindle has straight, strong wood that was used for making ‘spindles’ for spinning and holding wool, as well as skewers, toothpicks, pegs and knitting needles. The fruits have been described as looking like bishops' mitres. The Woodland Trust says they're like popcorn. Fine for birds to eat but toxic to humans. The leaves colour beautifully in autumn.     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.