Technology...

...Tiny Tuesday.

I've seen many microchips in my job, I've also seen many bonded, exposed chips before but this is the first open bonded chip in a complete package with it's own little viewing window I've seen. It is an Eprom chip and the purpose of the window is to let in Ultraviolet light during the erasing process.

You learn something everyday, although I work for a tech company I'm not all that tech savvy if I'm being honest, at least not on the manufacturing/hardware side of things.

It's like having a car with a transparent bonnet/hood so you can see the inner workings.

This chip is about 2.5mm in length, it's fascinating to see all the sectors of rom. This is very old technology and only has 7kB of Program Memory and 192B of RAM. 

Complete Chip in Extras -------->

Mr Bo Hingles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.