A Morning with the Eagles

November and December are the best months to photograph Bald Eagles at Conowingo Dam, about an hour and a half from home.  I've been wanting to go all month, but the weather and family demands haven't cooperated.  I decided to give it a try this morning.  It didn't seem like such a good idea at 4:30 AM when my alarm went off, but I wanted to arrive before sunrise, to make sure there would be a space for my car, and my tripod.  I certainly wasn't the first photographer to arrive, but I wouldn't have missed anything if I had gotten there later (although I would have hit rush hour traffic).  Anyway,  I stayed for about three hours with mixed results.  The eagles were few and far between, so there was a lot of standing around.  I only saw a couple of birds fishing and had to be content with capturing fly overs.  One juvenile (in extras) did catch one (which I missed) but I think every photographer there got a photo of him eating his catch.  Still, it was a seasonal must do, so I'm glad I made the trip. It would be great to get back there with local fellow blippers Photomatt and Osuzanna, but we'll see how it goes with schedules.
Thanks for stopping by!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.