Challenge Accepted

I have been challenged by Herr Auslaender on Facebook to post covers of 7 favourite books over 7 respective days, with no description or explanations, and to nominate someone each day to do the same.

This would have been impossible if the wording implied that it had to be my 7 favourite books - like my top 7 ever - because I’d still be second guessing myself on that this time next year. Happily I’m interpreting the wording as just any 7 of my many favourite books, so I’ve been able to dial down the temporary madness.

The other issue is not being able to explain why I’ve picked each book, because I love banging on about books I love, so it needed some self discipline.

However I can do what I want here. I picked this because it is so incredibly inventive, original and frankly weird; an alternative world where Swindon (Swindon !!!!) is the centre of civilisation, croquet is the most popular national pastime and books are actually underpinned by a separate, fully fleshed out realm, which the main character is able to enter and interact with.

Also the protagonist is called Thursday Next, and the principal baddy is Jack Schitt, which made me smile every time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.