Our House

It certainly isn't the first time I've taken a picture of our house, nor is it the first time I've appreciated the color of our sky, but today, more than ever I am grateful for both. It was almost exactly six years ago that we moved here. It was pouring rain and the movers put temporary red runners on the floors to protect them as they brought in all our furniture.

A lot has happened since then. After 45 years in the house where we raised our kids, we moved to a new house in a new town. We've made new friends, lived through floods, fires and even a small earthquake. Those experiences, especially the fires, have made us realize, more than anything else that Santa Rosa is our home. We feel that we belong here. 

As we were preparing to see our insurance agent recently, OilMan and I discussed whether we would rebuild this house if it were to burn down...an imponderable question, but probably better dealt with before the fact than after. It is in the infamous 'urban wild land interface' which means it is in a lovely setting with beautiful views, the kind of location that people increasingly seek out, especially retired people who no longer have to worry about commuting. However, we are now being told that this is exactly the kind of terrain most vulnerable to fire. For that reason alone, we probably wouldn't rebuild. But there are so many other condsiderations...

So many discussions about this tend to become circular that we eventually give it up without reaching a definitive conclusion. At least we think we are well insured....I was talking to a neighbor about the fact that I think my basic inclination in these situations is still to live in the present. It doesn't hurt to be prepared, but it does cause problems if we are so immersed in preparing for something that may or may not happen in the future, or so affected by what happened in the past that we are unable to enjoy the present. 

 I was standing in the driveway waiting for my neighbor to pick up my old sheets, towels and a bag of dog food for the animal shelter where 700 lost animals are being held. I had my camera with me in case I saw a likely blip when it occurred to me that maybe I was standing right in front of it...our house. We even have the two cats prowling in the yard, although they don't actually belong to us....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.