It's Grim Up North

By lynnfot

Lancaster canal

Made soup, went to a meeting and joined village horticultural society committee, went on a dog walk along the canal and by lunch time I was tired and nodding off; I'm looking forward to getting the usual energy back. Though, joining a committee is draining to the soul.

The older people in the village don't understand why younger people don't join the village organisations to help keep them alive. I gave them a uninvited lecture on socio-economics and the changing trends in the way people live. Back at home, I've written a list of gardening topics that younger people might enjoy e.g. 'gardening for the time poor' or 'hammock-friendly gardening' rather than 'growing prize dahlias.' I don't go to the meetings but the HS has always arranged coach trips to interesting and photograph-able gardens so I want to help keep these going.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.