Mr John

By MrJohn

Running club .....

..... Social night.

This evening, instead of my usual cake Wednesday I have been out for a social night down the vaults ( aka taps ) pub with about 20 of the Ilkley harriers. Tonight's social was to discuss fell runnning, I felt a bit of a fraud being there as I'm one of those soft road runners who falls over as soon as they see a blade of grass. I have however been sort of pursuaded to try a few fell races ( If I can get the weekends off work ). Having done a few off road sessions this year I wouldn't mind at least giving fell racing a try, there's nothing to loose exept my speed, dignity and possibly life ( me and downhill running off road aren't the best of friends ).

It was nice to be out doing something a bit different and to see fellow harriers in normal clothes rather than running kit. I had a nice pub meal of steak and ale pie with mash and roasted veg, all washed down with a couple of pints. This photo was taken as there was some lively discussion about the best races to enter next year.

In other news I've shown one of my work colleuges his first Iridium satellite flare today, a very bright -8.3 magnitude Iridium flare ( he already knows I'm geeky ) and tonight I'm stopping up late to see how close Jupiter is going to get to the almost full moon.

As it makes a change from cake night on a Wednesday, today's blip is the .....


..... Running club social night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.