CanCarrier

By CanCarrier

Heating saga.

So 

The hot water stopped working on Sunday afternoon, but I had booked the annual service for Thursday so I thought 'I'll just shower at work and boil the kettle for dishes'. The week passed by and I found out which showers at work were hottest, cleanest (the one on the third floor looks like someone cleaned their bike in it) and have hooks for hanging things up. 

The man came on Thursday and said he needed a part so he'd be back on Friday. On Friday he came back and fixed things. 

I had both hot water and heating till Saturday afternoon when the boiler stopped working altogether. 

On Monday I phoned from work and they said they would come round on Tuesday. 

I waited in on Tuesday morning and whilst kneeling on the floor sorting some stuff out my hip slipped sideways and I felt a crippling pain in my back. Having had this before I wriggled onto my back and put my legs in the air which helped a bit, but I knew I'd done something severe. 

The boilerman came and basically told me I needed a new boiler, until he discovered I was on an annual service plan, and suddenly he knew exactly how to fix it, just not today. I gave him a key so he could get back in without me taking any more time off work. 

I took a towel and wash kit and walking pole to work and hirpled to my desk like a true martyr. People seemed to think I was a hero. I didn't like to explain that at home the pain would be exactly the same, but there would be no heating or hot water. 

Bless my team manager, she arranged for work to pay for a taxi home. 

Tuesday night I took co-codomol and slept like the dead. 

Wednesday I hirpled into work again and made an appointment with the doctor, I also got an e-mail from the boiler people telling me the new part would arrive on Thursday. 

Today I went to the Dr and told him I didn't want pain killers, co-codomol is available over the counter and works fine. I just wanted a referral for physio, because I'm confident that if I think I am over the worst and need some physio in a few weeks I better get my name on the list now. The Boilerman e-mailed me to say they would visit and fit the new part today. 

This evening I got home to this note. 

So I still have no heating or hot water and my back is still spasming when I sit still too long or try and move outside of my very limited reach.

Still. At least I can get a walk in shower at work. Even if they fixed the boiler there is no way I can climb over the side of the bath into my home shower. 

How many Brexitiers does it take to change a light bulb? One to tell folk about the bright future ahead and the rest to screw it up. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.