Photo-a-day retirement

By mpp26

Banded dotterel on a nest

I was pretty upset as a whitebaiter in a big 4 wheel drive vehicle came across the spit where the dotterels nest (and where he is NOT allowed to go for the very reason that they are nesting there), and came with in a metre of running over the nest and the bird. The poor bird didn't run but just hunkered down on the nest. I thought for sure I was going to see it go under the wheels - I'm sure he never saw it, how could you at that speed and from that height. I waited till he'd gone past, then checked on the bird, and it was thank goodness fine. Went and had a word to him - got the blank stare, and the shrug, but at least I didn't get sworn at which has happened.

The problem is too that if people don't follow the rules they ruin it for others who do. And sadly it's all unnecessary as people can still whitebait and follow the rules and hopefully allow the birds to breed in peace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.