Rare glimpse

We went to the grand opening of the first IKEA in our state in 2004 and that was the last time I was in IKEA. Love the simple and clean design principles it embodies but it is just too large for my taste.

Speaking of large, my errands today took me to within spitting distance of the MOA and I was sorely tempted. What if they were building another gingerbread house this year? I still remember how, on the second floor near Nordstrom Rack, I could almost reach over the railing and pick off a chocolate bar from the roof, if only Mr. M would hang on to my one arm while I dangled. He nixed that idea; it probably wasn't a good one anyway.

This is what they are doing this year if it gets cold enough for long enough stretches to stop it from melting.

Going there today didn't seem like a good idea either so I headed home, stopping only for a few fancy ingredients to make our anniversary dinner with. Neither of us felt like going out and paying someone big bucks to fix us a meal worthy of a 31st wedding anniversary so we made battered shrimp and stir-fried veggies over white basmati rice with a light and zesty lemon/ginger/garlic sauce.

Sigh, I've just been informed by Mr. M that we did NOT win the record $550 million dollar jackpot drawing this evening. That's alright. I wouldn't want to be saddled with that much money anyway and have to decide who to give to and who not.

I thought this was fabulous.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.