Cr055ie

By Cr055ie

History in your hands

Wow. I thought was going have a mundane day training in Lincoln.  How wrong can you be?

The training took place in the Lincoln Archive building in a suite called the Tennyson Suite.  The whole room was filled with memorabilia of Tennyson who is Lincolnshire born and bred.  His writing table and stationary slope, the books from his library, and books written about him including critiques if his poetry.  I had left my phone in the car and had not taken my camera with me as it would have sat in the car all day.  I was allowed to collect my phone and return to the rooms after the training to take a few pics.  The building manager waited for me and showed me a few if the artefacts before she gave me tour of parts of the building that are not normally open to the public.  I had no idea that so many things were stored there.  Suits of armour, clocks, furniture, pottery for all the archeological digs around Lincolnshire as well as all the documents that I would have expected to find.  Being interested sociology and local history I was fascinated.  

The question is what picture should I use for my blip, Alfred Lord Tennyson's writing table, the documents repository, the books, or one of the two interesting documents that I was blown away by.

So maybe the closing salutation on the letter written by Florence Nightingale to Mablethorpe Hospital.  No it's fascinating but not the gem I have decided to use.

Todays pic is the flyleaf of the "biography of his royal highness the Prince Consort", a book from Tennyson's collection.  The flyleaf bears a personal note to Tennyson from Her Majesty Queen Victoria.  I didn't even want to hold it, just to see it held in front of me was enough.  Wow just wow.

The training wasn't too bad either!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.