Through a lens darkly

By oojeyboojey

Breathtaking

On my walk to work, I noticed that the traffic was backed up way further than usual. An unmarked police car whizzed past and I figured something must be up - I took out my camera and waited to see what I'd stumble across.

As I crested the brow of the hill, this is what I saw. A car had crossed onto the wrong side of the road, knocking over a lamp post in the process, and smacked head-first into a police car! Drama!

This is my favourite of the series of shots I took, since the policeman driver is being breathalysed.

I'm so glad I wasn't caught up in this. I felt like I'd crossed a moral line by taking these shots - I have no way of knowing if the other driver is ok.

Edit to add: the local news site says that the driver had a medical emergency before crashing. They've asked to use my photo and I figured, why not?

Edit to also add: I am a photo-journalist now! (Kinda): the link to my first ever news photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.