Scepter

I've been spending more time in my workroom upstairs. It's been a long time since I've done that. I like it up there. Today the hours were just as long as they should always be, and the light was clear, soothing, and even. I mended a tear in a big, cloth car cover by hand; it was too unwieldy to use the sewing machine. Then I tackled the sweater I'm knitting. Then I went for a walk. When I got back, Eric was home from school and puttering around in the backyard of the rental house where he had propped this mop up against the back fence.
No wood stove fire again; the air up here is still all California. Oddly comforting to breathe what has been utterly devastating for so many. There is no way to help, but sharing the air is sharing the anguish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.