OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Otter on Shapinsay

This otter was at Salt Ness. I hadn't been over for a while so headed out today, although it was a bit murky. There was a hen harrier by the village and 8 whoopers looking pretty grubby rooting in fields by the village. Along the road, a stop at the RSPB Mill Dam hide, then on to Vasa Loch and 48 more whoopers. Along the shore northward to the wartime gun battery at Salt Ness (which also seems to be called Galt Ness!). I settled out of the wind to have coffee (and carrot cake), and was just thinking of otters when I noticed a boulder by the shore. I don't remember that boulder, I thought, and, sure enough, it turned out to be a new boulder. Nearby was the otter. It didn't notice me and I was able to use a low parapet to get a bit closer. It spent about ten minutes or so grooming then headed into the water. I could see it fishing quite a bit out. So after that I had my coffee, and walked up to the road via the flooded wartime buildings and back to the pier. Mhttps://www.flickr.com/photos/octobermoth/ore here 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.