Heron dance

The tide was right for seeing the waders before breakfast this morning. A sizeable group of kuaka kept moving away from me, and then flew to where getting close was highly unlikely. A couple of  torea were hanging around nearby, until one squawked loudly and they flew off.

The matuku moana (white faced herons) were numerous, and mostly tolerant of my presence. At least until after i had got my blip photo. The only real change I've made to what was downloaded from the camera SD card, is to crop out some of the surrounding water. I like the silhouetted birds, and the lack of bright colours.

I was just sorting my porridge when a big kereru flew over the deck and stopped in a neighbour's large pohutukawa tree. I've added it as an extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.