The life & times of Jacks

By Jacqueline

Monumental Day

I got up really early this morning and got on the first train to London from KL.  I NEVER get up early on a Sunday but I'm still feeling a bit inspired from last weekend in Paris.

I started at Embankment and walked across the bridge to the south bank where I wandered along to the Tate Modern where I looked at St Paul's from the millenium bridge.  I then wandered along further to London Bridge, then across the river towards the city.  Meandered the city - it's amazing being there when it was so quite - so very different from most of my work days.

On the way there I came across the Monument and went up it for the first time since I've lived down here - Loved it!  The views from the top were beautiful and the winding staircase was interesting and while a tad on the tight side, surprisingly not too bad to walk up (all 311 stairs!).

I later walked back across to the South Bank via Tower Bridge and then met up with P &A, and eventually Steve joined us.  We had a lovely lunch then wandered around for a while, enjoyed a mulled wine and then eventually we came home.

Love a bit of spontaneity on a Sunday 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.