A little turkey

The Sunday before Thanksgiving is probably one of the worst days to shop, since it's the last day working people can do their major shopping for the holiday.  But since I'd run out of the distilled water I need for my CPAP machine, I had no choice.  I was surprised to get the parking spot I prefer, so I was optimistic.  The place was mobbed, especially in the produce section, where people kept planting their baskets in the middle of an aisle while they went off to get their next item.  But the things I needed for my tsimmes were on sale.  When I went to the bakery for bread, I saw that the refrigerated case was full of seasonal baked goods, of which this turkey cupcake was the standout.  The Extra is a pretty harvest themed cake I saw there.  I managed to get out of the store having spent less than I expected and without too long a wait in line to check out.  All in all, a good experience, except that I forgot the prunes for the tsimmes.

It was another sunny, chilly day, which was enjoyable, but worrisome as we are really far behind in rainfall.  We're four inches short of normal just for the rainy season, which started October 1. The numbers suggest that a drought may be in the offing, unless we have a really cold winter that will build up the snow pack in the mountains whose runoff provides our water.  Ah, climate change!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.