Success and coincidence

We were on a mission today to find some nature. We had a few places lined up and even though the first was only marginally successful and the second turned out to be a shopping centre, we knew we were on the right tracks. 

The grand success came shortly after a coffee at Knysna marina; we discovered the beautiful Knysna Head which I read at 5.32am (another day of still being in safari time!) was the best place to visit in South Africa. It certainly was picturesque; up high, dramatic and surprisingly quiet too. 

On the way back, we made an impromptu detour onto Leisure Island. It's one exclusive place but that's not what wowed us... Reed beds, birds and an African sacred ibis really close by were what did it. We discovered there was one coffee shop and that's where we headed for lunch.

What a divine little spot nestled in huge trees. Great food, lovely service and a racket above us. We looked up to spot a bird on a strange, upside down, basket-like nest and it's then that I connected one of my favourite David Attenborough films about the weaver birds. The beautiful Cape weaver birds we've been seeing were weaving these nests! It's something I've always wanted to see so I'm fairly certain that'll be on my blip today.

I didn't know, but a woman waved at Rich while we were there but Rich assumed it was just a local saying hello. A while later, a woman walked past me and I thought I recognised her. Now, I'm generally rubbish at picking out people but I asked Rich whether it was the safari lady with the lovely wide smile. I thought he was going to write it off but it was!

When we left the park a few days before, I'd chatted to them and discovered we were heading the opposite way on the Garden Route. I'd joked that we might bump into them on the 400km route. 

Bump! Here we were! 

We enjoyed a chat and headed off for a walk along the waters edge, spotting more birds and butterflies before making our way up to our next destination. Heaven in the forest!

Tranquil. Calming. Idyllic.

The monkeys stole our welcome biscuits right in front of our noses. The shower smells of the frog pond at the entrance. There's bird watching and the most spectacular view from the pool. This is so our kind of place! 

A chill out and a hot chocolate on the balcony was followed by a surprise communal dinner that was never going to be right up my street but, it was with good company. I'm now a little wired but winding down.

Sleeping to the sounds of the forest frogs is next. That should help.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.