Life from a City

By LeggeAngie

University

Today I was scheduled to give a lecture at the local University, pictured here from the window of the car park. I did have a view outside, but I kind of liked this version. 

Unfortunately there had been a power cut, which meant neither the equipment, nor the door to the lecture theatre, would work. So we are now trying to fix another date. The work with the University is really important - and I hope I can build similar links in my new role. As I was hearing in a Radio 4 interview this morning, we need to ensure education equips students for the real world. For those entering healthcare, they really do need to know some of my area - except it isn't part of the regular curriculum.

The Radio 4 interview was an interesting one. Is what we teach of value? I'd argue that Maths and English were - learning to read and count. The remainder depends on the child. My daughter is studying Art, English Lit and Sociology - ideal for her desired career as an illustrator.  So for me it isn't education per se which is the issue, but the range or scope of subjects taught. I'd like to see more variation across schools, to enable children to choose a school based on the subjects taught. As a society, we could do with a conversation about what is taught in school - what adds value? Should we teach politics, finance, health and fitness, and something that teaches analytics, eg philosophy?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.