WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

If it's Monday it must be Birmingham

Yesterday is excitingly backblipped. To Birmingham today as I realised last week that it was only an hour's train ride away from here, so I could have lunch with sister D. Unlike last time I travelled on a  British train, it was a pleasant experience and definitely better than any recent SNCF journey: clean, comfortable, on-time trains both ways.

We had lunch at Damascena, a Syrian-themed deli and cafe (see extra). D said, "They had an armed robbery last week, so it's bound to be really safe now." It was really lovely -- flatbread wraps and cardamom tea, and when D couldn't finish her large helping of ful medames, the waitress spontaneously offered her a doggy bag. Very good value too, a fiver each for the food. Highly recommended, so if you're in Birmingham support them.

From there we visited the new library (blip). D renewed her library card and borrowed some books. It's a huge building with few books in it. The very helpful librarian who showed her how to use the self-checkout told us that the old library service employed over 600 people. When the new one was built they were cut to 170, and now the cash-strapped council is running the same building with 70 staff. "I expect I'll go soon," he said. "They don't need me when they can get a 19-year-old on £12K to do this job."

From there to the art gallery to see the Staffordshire Hoard. I hadn't realised that there's so much of it that they periodically update the exhibition to show different pieces, so it wasn't the same as the last time I went. It's beautifully displayed and the craftsmanship is just amazing. Also a must-see in Birmingham, and free to boot.

Then train back to Oxford where Bundle is now plying me with wine and nibbles -- this is the life!

PS apologies for not blipping Selfridges, I know it's a Blip law when in Birmingham.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.