Pieksämäki Railway Station Blues

Before the official meeting of the Association of Finnish Camera Clubs I had a little walk around in the centre of Pieksämäki. I dropped in to the railway station to take a few shots to salute the location of Juice Leskinen's 16-minute-long classic of Finnish rock music, "Bluesia Pieksämäen asemalla".

Pieksämäki is a small town, but familiar to people traveling by train as it's an important crossing between north-south and east-west railways. In the song, a man sits at the station waiting for the next train home and to ease the boredom, he imagines a band playing his song. Starting with just a guitar, it grows verse by verse to a full band, shrinking back to just the guitar in the end.

I wasn't traveling by train though, as I brought my club's share of the exhibition catalogues and the rejected photos back home, and also had the chance to visit my friend nearby. Back home at half past nine in the evening, but luckily the weather was dry, so the 3 1/2 hour drive wasn't too bad even in the dark.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.