Wedrowiec

By Wedrowiec

Moon Train and an Evening of Poetry

There's a railroad crossing not far from my neighborhood.  Whenever I'm in a rush, it seems that a slow cargo train never fails to come rumbling by and slow me down a bit.  Tonight L had a Wieczorek Poetycki (Poetic Evening) at school (extra photo), and I was running just a wee bit late. I grabbed my camera from my backpack while stopped and quickly snapped a picture. We made it to the school program on time, and L recited Andre, by Gwendolyn Brooks:

I had a dream last night. I dreamed
I had to pick a mother out. 
I had to choose a father, too.
At first I wondered what to do.
There were so many there it seemed.
Short and tall and thin and stout.

But just before I sprang awake
I knew what parents I had to take.

And this surprised me and made me glad.
They were the ones I always had.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.