NellieD

By NellieD

The baked bean plant

I spotted this plant at the entrance to the food bank as I went to volunteer this morning. I've never noticed it before so wonder if it's only just 'flowered' but I will certainly be keeping an eye on it to see what happens to the beans!

It was such a busy day sorting out donations and making space in cupboards - but it seems what I've experienced is nothing compared to the next few weeks when all the Christmas donations really start to appear. Apparently this has just been a warm up!

I could have gone home after volunteering as I was exhausted but I had to go straight to book club to host the discussion of Equal Rites by Terry Pratchett. So many people brought in Christmas gifts and pyjamas (as the food bank makes sure every woman has a new pair at Christmas) or they very kindly put money in the pot which I will spend on food vouchers. My car boot was completely full and I had £84 in the pot! They are such a generous bunch of ladies.

Quote for today:
I tried to start a gang once, it turned into a book club.
- Unknown

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.