A Monkey's Tale

By MonkeyWithAView

Mmm.. A Festive Treat

You just can't beat a mince pie. And homemade one at that! Things only get better when you then add a brownie & some hot, silky custard. Mmm, love it!

No this isn't an M & S advert, although I could understand why you might think so. I thought with the festive season just around the corner, it would be sensible to introduce blip to one of my favourite morsels. The Magnificent mince pie! And why not throw in a choco brownie & lashings of custard for good measure.

On a completely different note, you'll never guess what almost-nearly-so-close-but-not-this-time-thank-Monkey happened to Jen & I on our way back home after work?! My Clio tried to pull a number on us & decided it just wouldn't start. With thoughts turning immediately to the horrors of the 12 June when the Clio was really very naughty indeed, fixing the car was a necessity, at least for our sanity's sake.

Well, after a poke around under the bonnet with a torch my Grandad had bought me a couple of years back, with no resolution, the inevitable call to Mick was made. A couple of years back the car had left me stranded at a T-junction when it suddenly it broke down for no apparent reason. Mick discovered that a wire connected to the starter motor had simply popped off & so my thoughts had obviously turned to that possibility on this occasion. Talking to Mick on the phone & creating a few sparks in the engine in the region of the start motor, we quickly concluded something similar had happened again. This time however the car just needed a kick start..

Not looking forward to another long wait for the AA man in the cold night, & with us conveniently being parked, facing down, on a hill, the answer was obvious. With a push & shove & bit of luck, the car kicked grumbled into life & away we were. No stopping.

We made it home just in time (actually, loads of time thanks to some box-clever car tinkering) for I'm A Celebrity. Sad to see Hugo go tonight. A really nice chap & a good laugh on the show too.

After all that I'm a little peckish. Mince pie anyone?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.