Your friend is not like you

Sadly I think I am almost at the end of giving the grandchildren picture books for their birthdays. As soon as they learn to read they want to be grown up and have 'chapter books' with lots of words in them. It's a shame because beginner readers are much better off reading picture books, but only if the books are not patronising, are well written and have high quality illustrations. The kind of book I have been advocating, often on these pages, for a long time. 

Anyway, I will not stop buying the best books for myself and to add to the collection at our house, which has been well used and will still be sought out on visits for a long time to come - I suspect. 

So, this is the new one from one of my favourite children's book creators - Emily Gravett. It is called Cyril and Rat and is about Squirrel Cyril who is lonely and makes friends with Rat Pat. They have a great time together, but everyone around them disapproves - he is not like you. Wonderfully funny, riotously illustrated and a thoughtful message. Just why can't one have a friend who is different, especially when that friend is there when you need help. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.