IrvingFlashman

By IrvingFlashman

Pleh

I'm not entirely sure what today was.
Definitely wasn't back to full health but had to go to the University Open Day for the Masters degree.
Sat at the front of the meeting, on my own, with cold sweat running down my back.
I'm pretty sure that I no longer want to do a Masters. I certainly cannot afford it and it seems to be an extra year on a pathway to something I don't want. I want to write about things that are relevant. I don't want to spend the rest of my life discussing imagery in texts written by eccentrics eighty years ago. Not to be rude about my course, but I'm somewhat more interested in the 'now'.
Met the boy and his friends at the pub this evening which, for the first time ever, failed to cheer my mood. I didn't have any alcohol as I wasn't quite back to full health which was unfortunate because they definitely did have alcohol.
The Boy seemed too busy playing games with his friends to realise that I was sat next to him and wasn't smiling. Awkward, really, since his friends just wanted to make out.
On a brighter note, lovely Joseph taught me things about football, asked me to accompany him and some friends out Friday night, and asked me to write for his local music blog. A massive compliment for me as I'm always somewhat doubtful of my writing skills - thanks, harsh lecturers. Also, I know *nothing* about music so this can only go well, right?
Walked home alone (a CRIME in a dark city, first and last time that is ever happening). Seeing the girls sitting on the sofa watching some rather odd film about gold and gods made me so glad to be home and to escape the sadness of a social group where you feel a little on the outside.
Coming home to these ladies makes me smile plenty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.