Riverwalker

By Riverwalker

A bird in hand

Its been a long time since I posted anything in here. Recent back surgery has slowed me down a bit. I took this at Chagrin River Park in Willoughby, Ohio today. I love taking pics of birds. More often than not I will leave the trail and follow a deer trail deep into the woods. Its a whole nother world of beauty in there. I walked up on a young doe sleeping in the sun just 4 ft from me. I have nundreds of deer pics so I didnt bother taking one, I was satisfied just being there watching her sleep, As a turned to go I saw an 8 pt buck leap over a fallen log. How graceful and majestic a sight to see. I have PTSD and it seems the only time I can relax is when I'm in the woods. I even fell into a small creek today while trying to get a better vantage point to get a pic of a Pileated Woodpecker. I felt like a kid again. I didnt even mind hiking out of the woods and finishing the trail with wet feet and pants. It was worth it, Im not a birder I just like taking pictures of them. Can anyone tell me what kind of bird this is on my hand? Ive had chickadees land on my hand before as I'm sure many of you have. The chickedees dont stay very long but this little fella stayed on my hand pecking away for at least a minute. He flew off and came back again. I took several pics but this one is the one that came out best. I hope all who view it will enjoy it .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.