Bizarre

It is Book Week Scotland. 

Somehow this resulted in the Ingolstadt Intern and I attending an event at the local library this afternoon. Community engagement, I suppose. So far, so good.

The main purpose of the event seemed to be to get us to buy excellent - but expensive - chocolate from Ecuador. In between tastings and sales pitches, library staff read 3 short stories to us. 

Very strange. Well, as you can see, I got my wallet out. Somebody will be in luck on the 24th (or perhaps 25th depending on where that somebody lives) of next month. 

One of the short stories was by Murakami. On the way back to the office the intern asked if she could borrow "my favourite book" to read. That's a problem. 

I have no favourite. I have many I enjoyed and a few I would read again. So, I had to scratch my head. 

Fortunately Murakami was stuck in it, as was the knowledge that she runs half marathons and is planning an upgrade to the full distance. Problem solved. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.