Paladian

By Paladian

Spider Aerobics

I went shopping this morning. I didn't want to go, but food has to be bought, cats have to be fed, even though the weather is beastly. The Rower asked me if I was going to take the camera. Nah - not worth it I said.

Bad mistake. I must have seen at least 6 blippable images... so frustrating. I have learnt my lesson, I freely admit. Take the camera - if you take it you'll see nothing, if you don't take it, well... I rest my case.

So weather not withstanding I was doomed to the back garden safari. I knew there was a little white spider on the daisies, so I was determined to find it. And I did. She is the best fed little white flower spider in the WHOLE of Australia. There are always dozens of tiny flies on this daisy, so she has had a very easy time of it.

Anyway, to get this image, she got a bit of exercise. At first she was bum up, and whilst I do like to see close-ups of spinnerets, I though the head end was more appealing (except to Jolang - so my apologies Jo). So I chased her around the flowers with a stick - you can just about see her panting in this shot.

The camouflage is interesting - she is white (of course - she lives on a white flower), but her eyebrows are green and yellow to match the centre and the foliage of the flower. (Do spiders have eyebrows? You know what I mean!)

See bigger eyebrows

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.