Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Pretty In Pink

Well, winter is upon us!  I landed back at Heathrow just after 6 this morning and when I got to my car I had to spend ages scraping off a thick layer of ice! It’s hard to believe that I was camping just over a week ago and eating breakfast outside in the sunshine!

After a long nap I had a cosy afternoon in my warm house and I almost skipped a walk, but I’m glad I talked myself into going down to the lake. There wasn’t very much colour - most of my pictures look like I was shooting in black and white!  This was the only one with a tiny hue of pink!  But I love the grey and foggy atmosphere too, so I enjoyed the walk. It’s always good to get in the fresh air after being cooped up on a plane for hours on end.

Today was Thanksgiving. I had no special plans this year and was mostly ok with that, but at the last minute I decided to put together a traditional meal after all. So I stopped at Waitrose to buy provisions - I ended roasting a small poussin (Rock Cornish Hen in the US) , not a Turkey, but everything else was traditional - mashed potato, sweet potato, green beans, gravy and cranberry sauce. There was no pumpkin pie (that takes planning!) or pecan pie, but I did find a pecan roulade, so at least the traditional flavour was there for dessert!  (See Extra photo).

I must say I amazed myself at putting it all together so quickly!  My lodger walked in the door just as I was dishing up so I shared the meal with him. We both agreed we had lots to be thankful for. We then listened to Classic FM’s evening concert which was a special Thanksgiving edition, with a variety of American classics on the playlist.  A very enjoyable and relaxing evening after all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.