To Flash or . . .

. . . not to flash
 
That is the question.
 
An odd thing for flower Friday, but I’m still going through the dilemma of a new toy. 
 
Now it’s the turn of flashguns.  I inherited Mrs W’s Sigma EF-610-DG-ST (another hand-me-down) as the TTL did not work well on her Canon 5D Mk3.  It worked well on my 7D (another hand-me-down), but unfortunately not on the EOS R, possibly for the same reason that it didn’t work on the 5D.  Mrs W’s Canon Speedlight works very well, but she’s not handing that down just yet – so what to buy?
 
A Canon Speedlight at five hundred and a lot pounds is not a contender, especially as we already have one in the family, but what is going to be compatible.  The Hahnel Modus 600RT looks favourable, but which combo?  I was just thinking of a single gun, but what about studio work, and I do have a passion for still life, and the ‘Pro Kit’ looks excellent value for money with two guns plus all the Wireless kit for less than the cost of two guns – BUT I usually use my selection of Cree led torches to get the effects I want.  AND Mrs W does have a selection of remote triggers and the like from when she was still keen. 
 
Now the trouble with the torches is they have to be held, and although we do have one retort stand I sometimes need that for the subject, and often want to use more than one torch anyway.  SO yesterday evening we ordered a couple of very cheap retort stands which turned up at half past eight this morning – BEFORE we had got the conformation email and delivery information!!
 
SO today’s blip had to be using the ‘new’ (well updated) ‘studio’ set up – shot at extra.  And being Friday . . .
 
Something tells me it will be just the one new flashgun!!!
 
 
Many thanks to Anni (if she has managed to hang in this far) for hosting Flower Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.