East Coasting

By OzBeachcomber

Galahs

I spotted a few galahs feeding on the lawn across the road and went to get my camera but in the couple of minutes that took they had disappeard but a huge flock of them were flying crazily around making a heck of a noise (they are very noisy birds). They then headed to the trees by the river so I followed and found them in this tree - there must have been over a hundred most of them right up in the high bare branches and still making a huge racket. I blipped these as the ones up high showed up very dark. As I was snapping away all of a sudden the whole lot took off again, flew around like crazy for a few minutes and then settled down again in the same tree and continued to make a lot of noise......
My bird book tells me they are also called Rose-breasted Cockatoo and that they create strong life bonds with their partner.
PS better in large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.