Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Saturday

Was not a day of rest!

First I would like to thank everyone who agreed with my blip yesterday that office birthdays have become as enormous as Hallowe'en? Black Friday? I really am finding culture shock very difficult to cope with. It's all so very weird/alien/trivial and I don't know how to fit in at the same time as being myself.

But today was good. First I went along to the local branch of a respected national bank to see about opening a new account there. On my way I was stopped in the street by a very cheery hello from someone I don't know. It turns out she recognised my face from the office. We exchanged names, I recognised hers, and that means that I now know that she turned 30 last week and has been responsible for making sure that I get the dinner I have pre-selected for next week's office Xmas function.

Inside the bank was lovely. A new member of staff was receiving training and had a sign at her window to explain that, and to ask for patience if she was a little slow while she learned her job. I liked that. I liked that very much indeed.

I was attended by a different teller to whom I explained that I was part-way through the process of applying to open a new account online, but the information I had received by email conflicted with the information I had received on-screen during the application. She had a little clatter on her keyboard, asked to see my passport, smiled nicely and told me that I should receive cards, account number and sort code in the post shortly. I look forward to that!

So then I went bimbling into every single charity shop in Chatham High Street. I also popped into the bicycle shop to see what they were like and to find out if they perform such trivial jobs as checking tyres for softness and chains for oiliness. Yes they do. So I promised to return later with my bicycle after a little more bimbling.

More charity shops, a quick detour back to that gate especially for ceridwen. 
(There is something very strange indeed going on with these gates, I half-suspect they operate as an organ? Is that even possible? There is a lot of unexpected paraphernalia on the in-side.) 
More charity shops, into the cathedral to find out why the gables are a misfit for the roof (future blip quite probably another day), a seasonal market in the castle grounds, all the remaining charity shops and back home, quite tired.

After a coffee and a sandwich I ventured out yet again to take my bicycle to the nice people along the street. They pumped up my tyres, oiled my chain and refused recompense. I really love this neighbourhood!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.