My blip-years

By Silverace

Dutch tradition

Sinterklaas and his pieten. I grew up with and love this Dutch tradition (google it for details).

Unfortunately there has been a lot of commotion the last few years regarding this tradition and the discussion is getting fiercer by the years. It is driven by loud shouting and misinformed people who can’t just let things be.

Still, this only encourages me to pass the tradition on to my little ones, and to ensure they understand it the way I think it should be understood.

One element of the tradition is setting your shoe for the night near a fireplace so that the pieten can fill it with a small present. Quite similar to Santa clause and his elves, but earlier in the month and with a different story to it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.