Preparações

A day of many errands and preparations for two weeks in the field, starting tomorrow. First thing I could be found buying tents and sleeping mats as well as shampoo and toilet roll. The latter of which are not necessarily field provisions but it's always wise to have an emergency roll in a backpack. I've been caught short on numerous occasions.

I am trying to get a portable modem to function to access internet when on the move, but I am a terrible option to troubleshoot anything technological. I had to buy a SIM card and I noticed some words on the vendor's box: 'Jesus Cristo está voltando. Ele te ama.' 'Jesus Christ is returning. He loves you.' It seemed an odd place to scrawl it.

I met Millie at the airport, who is joining for two weeks to lead the communications work in the field. If our Trump-bashing is anything to go by, we're going to have a hoot.

I had a decent Portuguese lesson during which I struggled to understand use of this/that/these/those. I've never nailed this in Spanish either.

I took to the numbers much more easily, mostly because there isn't much difference between Portuguese, Spanish and French variations:

15
Quinze. Quince. Quinze.

18
Dezoito. Dieciocho. Dix-huit

20
Vinte. Veinte. Vingt.

22
Vinte e dois. Veintidós. Vingt-deux

Learning Portuguese is fab and it's my favourite thing so far about my time here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.