rb231

By rb231

Sumi-e

I became very interested in photography, but started using photoshop before I got good at it. After spending tens and tens, probably hundreds, of hours exploring the possibilities of the programme I came to see, not so much how it could make a bad photo good, but how it could make a dull photo more interesting. I started to think that knowledge of the filters etc in photoshop was just as valid as knowledge of their use on the camera - especially given the rise to dominance of digital cameras. There wasn't anything you could do with a camera that you couldn't do (in considerably more comfort) with photoshop.

Of course, now that my interest in photography has resurged, I see that this thinking is wrong. But during that time the medium of photography has changed beyond anything we might have imagined. Smart phones and sites like Instagram (dare I mention that place here?) have made published photographers of us all.

So here's a pic of a bush treated with the 'sumi-e' photoshop filter.

I'm taking Sarah and Samuel to see Fatherson in Haddington tonight. Looking forward now to the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.