stujphoto

By stujphoto

Mother of Pearl

When I got p this morning and found we had had a heavy frost I thought my blip would inevitably be a frost crystal macro so I went outside and took a number of image of frost patterns. They wee OK but nothing really astounding so I came back indoors and decided to play around a bit more with my new macro set-up - a reversed 28mm lens. Looking around in the dining room I came across a coaster that had some mother-of-pearl shells embedded in plastic. This proved ideal for macro technique as it had a completely flat surface but gave plenty of shape and saturated colour. What you see is only a tiny portion of the nacre shell. The bubbles come from the embedding process but I thought it made it look more marine-like.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.