Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Bogey on down to the Bogey hole

Today has been a glorious day.  Little cotton wool clouds and not too hot.  The hounds got a run on the oval as I had an ulterior motive (all will be revealed in time - but not tonight) and then I high-tailed it up to King Edward park.  My intention was to walk down to Newie beach because I was told you could see the race from there.  No chance of a park anywhere so I drove back to Bar Beach and walked from there.

There were fences everywhere along the track and you couldn't really see it all that well so not the best vantage point to take shots.  I had a very informative chat with an interesting chap who asked me what all the buttons on my lens were and how much it cost and how much the camera cost, how many megapixels etc.  He did know about cars though.  The thing that amazed me was not how fast they went through streets I normally drive but how close they were to each other at that speed.

On the way back I stopped at the Bogey hole where it was being well patronised.  I have blipped it before.  Newcastle council's website says this about it.

The Bogey Hole was hand-hewn out of a wave cut rock platform by convicts for Major James Morisset, in 1819 for his personal use. Whether this work represented the enlargement of a naturally occurring rock pool used by Aboriginal people is not known. There is no record of how long it took to construct the pool but it was likely to have been finished by the time Morisset left Newcastle in November 1823.
As Morisset was the longest serving Commandant of Newcastle, the pool was originally referred to as the 'Commandant's Baths'. The name 'Bogey Hole' came into regular usage sometime after, and is said to come from the Dharawal word meaning 'to bathe'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.