Phlegm!!!

A couple of glasses of pinot grigio, a squash chilli and a good sleep has restored my humours!! The dough decoration emerged from the range 4 hours later looking good and have been delivered to school. I then headed into Bantry to suss out a possible street for the One Street project. I think I have one - New Street, but I got seriously distracted by an amazing discovery! I glimpsed what I thought looked like an interesting graffitio (??) when I was browsing around the old cemetary in Bantry, which has only recently beceome accessible ot the public, as you do. I decided to go back and have a look . I was very taken with this strange elongated medieval looking figure. As I was blipping a man appeared and the following conversation took place:
He: What do you think?
Me: I rather like it
He: They asked one of those graffiti lads from the Uk to come over and do it. Are you an artist?
Me: Sort of, I'm a photographer (exaggerating somewhat!)
He: Are you any good?
Me: Just learning
He: What, it involves learning??

Anyway, I assured him it did and he then asked if I'd seen the rest. I hadn't and I was gob-smacked. I've added more images on myblipfolio - please take a look for I was smitten. They have an air of a benevolent Hironymous Bosch. The details are extraordinary and so delicately done. They feel very medieval and the houses looked like those you might find on a Tudor map. Something stirred in my memory and I remember Shaamie sending me a link earlier in the summer. Phlegm came to mind - and yes, that is the artist's name and even more excitingly you can see him at work here - he's from Sheffield and obviously highly regarded, deservedly so. What on earth they are doing tucked away in a tiny alley I don't know - but maybe that's the point.

Any way this is for you Shaamie (and we'll check it out next time you're over).

This is also my first contrbution to the One Street project - cheating a little as it's not actually in the street, but tucked off it.

And Happy St Andrew's Day to you Scottish blippers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.