Leiflife

By Leiflife

Yappy Bird Day?

My life has been very exciting lately. Because I am one year old! Last Saturday Mama kept saying Yappy Bird Day all day long. I love Saturdays anyway, because we get to see Lorna at the Shearwater Pottery Showroom. Lorna has known me all my life, and loves me almost as much as Mama does. But I also got a new toy. A blue dog! 

I am so confused about Yappy Bird Day. Mama says the dogs next door are Yappy. And she is not real happy about that, and not about me finding my big dog bark. It doesn't make sense. Maybe she was saying "Happy". Happy Bird Day makes a lot of sense. But for Mama and me, every day is Happy Bird Day. And Mama has never made a special cake for me. This was a cake that dogs and humans could eat. Not much sugar, but it had peanut butter in it. It was amazing! And Mama took some to Lorna, and cousin Marjorie, too. Next day we took some to Vanja and Christy and the children for Vanja's Happy Bird Day. Yes! It must be Happy Bird Day, because Vanya is not a dog. Vanja's children, Julia and Bryce, gave me lots of tastes of cake. So I had some more. I still don't quite understand why one bird day is different from another. But I know I had a lot of fun on mine. Thank you, Mama, for the cake and all! 

You are welcome, Lumen... I had a lot of fun, too. November 17th will always be special to me, because you were born, and would soon be coming to live with me. You are right about every day being a Happy Bird Day, but don't expect cake every day. Looking at that photo of you all excited about watching pelicans, I think maybe birds are enough. 

Extra is of tiny precious Lumen almost a year ago... I think maybe it is a blip day for me. If it is, it is rather an embarrassing one. Five hundred blips in three years. Oh dear... Oh well...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.