atoll

By atoll

A Frozen Pea-Souper

Life is like a box of chocolates said Forrest Gump, but not today over this side of the Pennines. More like a frozen pea-soup on a stick.

I picked the wrong day for two separate site meetings in the cold and damp this morning, and had already got the chills (they were multiplying) by the time I got to meet Peter the structural engineer over in Swettenham. This is the view taken on my way there of a line of some Ghost Trees.

Fortunately for me, our site meeting was short and sweet, and Peter was in a highly benevolent mood. So much so, he even offered to treat me to some lunch. As busy as I am not, who was I to refuse and risk offending him?

Not one, but two real fires were roaring in the grate at the Swettenham Arms as we arrived and we parked our bums right next to one. Hot steak baguette and chips demolished in no time.

A great start to the weekend.Thanks Peter!

Postscript: All this talk of cold weather, food and pea soupers (as well as the fact that MrsB is defrosting the freezer this evening, in preparation for Christmas, and which exposed some old hand-gathered Razor Clams and two ancient bags of frozen peas tucked-away at the back) meant that I suddenly got this urge for some 'Pea 'n' Clam' soup for tea - seen here starting cooking, and pre-blitz.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.