Sneaky Peek

By SneakyPeek

Scots Law

Today, I decided to take another trip up to Parliament House to finish off what seems to have become a little bit of a series and the image you see here is the cloistered walkway leading to Parliament House itself. On arrival, I bumped into an Advocate chum of mine who proceeded to give me a rather impromptu (but very interesting tour) of parts of Parliament House that I'd never seen before. The highlight of the tour was being granted access to the inner sanctum that is the Advocates Library. The Library is not only where the Advocates work but it's also where the vast collection of print and electronic resource is kept for research purposes and you can read more about it here. It's a truly beautiful room. I was also granted access to the back of the Library where the Advocates can relax in somewhat sumptuous surroundings drinking copious amounts of tea and/or coffee and nibbling on the odd Digestive or two (there was even a Mrs Overall pushing a tea trolley!). Apparently, it's easier to get into Fort Knox than it is to get into the hallowed tearoom so I felt more than a little honoured.

Sadly, I discovered that photography wasn't allowed but here's a photograph I managed to take of one of a series of beautiful stained glass windows situated in the entrance hall leading into the Advocates Clerks' stables. Each window depicts the name of a Law Lord and here you can clearly see the names of Lords Erskine and Stair. Lord Stair's name, incidentally, lives on in the authoritative tome of Scots law known as The Stair Memorial.

Anyway, I hope you've enjoyed my little series which has hopefully given a little bit of an insight into the wonderful (and sometimes weird) world of Scots law.

I'm off to a party tonight, so I think it's about high time I got my glad rags on! Whatever you're up to this evening, have a good one!

Ps A very happy St Andrew's Day to all my fellow Scots. I was a little disappointed Edinburgh Castle wasn't flying the Saltire today though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.