To be expected

After a fretful night at the airport hotel, I was up at 5.20 so that I could check in before 6.30, as instructed by the airline. Imagine my mood when more than three hours after doing so, there's still no information about the new flight  to Istanbul after yesterday's flight returned to the airport just fifteen minutes after take off due to technical difficulties, and the subsequent saga that became the whole sorry story of my lost day. 

Anyway, I'm finally home now at 19.00 local time, - though landing in torrential rain at rush hour meant that there were no taxis for the final leg of my journey back to campus, so I stood there immobile at the roadside with my luggage, getting soaked, for a while which was, I feel,  the perfect ending to this dire 30+ hour experience, the highlight (or should that be "low spot" ?) of which has to be being attended by airport paramedics and being taken to the hotel in a wheelchair last night!!   More anon, maybe, but it doesn't really matter cos hey, I'm still breathing, in spite of Pegasus airlines and Stansted airport's attempts to finish me off.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.