Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

Fun day today! Finished 5 felted balls and bought a little Christmas flower and a fir tree to bring home. Had some laughs with my colleagues too. Beginning to feel like one in the gang. :)
My morning begun with a bus ride that made me later at my final stop than usual. First there was a young man, at the second stop, that wanted to go with the bus despite not having money to pay for the ticket. He made us late, because he tried to argue with the driver. She let him on and he asked a young lady to pay for his ride. She did. 
The second thing that made us even later was when the bus driver suddenly hit the brakes. No warning... passengers flying. Thankfully no one got hurt. The bus driver started yelling at someone really angrily. When the bus finally (I'd given up, by then, and was sure I'd be late...) moved, we saw a cyclist standing on the side of the road. That cyclist really got an earful! Rightfully so! When my stop came up I hurried through the forest to the greenhouse and as soon as I arrived I went to see the supervisors. One of them was in and I told her about the bus ride and why I was late. She asked when I start working and I said 8 o'clock. She pointed at the clock and it turned out I had 3 minutes to go, and since I'd been telling her a the story I probably had 5-6 minutes to go when I arrived and I was baffled! 
When I went to get the fir three I'd chosen, an older woman asked me if I worked there. I told her yes, but I'd just started. She didn't listen to this and asked me questions I couldn't answer. I told her I don't know about the cost for renting a spot for plants to be during the winter, and I told her I didn't know if that plant she was showing me was resilient to the cold outside or not. She didn't understand why I didn't know - she didn't say anything, just made face. As I went out with my fir tree, to pay for it, I saw my supervisor and asked her about the first question. Then I went back to tell the lady about rent cost. When we met at the checkout, she also told me that the Christmas plant I'd chosen newer would make it home, since it was very sensitive to temperature changes. I'd just talked to my supervisor about buying that little plant and went to put it back. I met her and she asked me if I'd changed my mind. I told her what the older woman had told me and she just said that if I wrap it properly it would be fine. So, out I went again with it in my hand and the old woman questioned if I should buy that anyway and I told her that I asked and was told it would be fine. Fortunately my supervisor came in that moment and backed me up. I wrapped my plants and they are happily inside now, feeling fine. So, the old woman was wrong. :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.