Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Waving the flag

Something different for a change to celebrate St Andrew's Day


A couple of you have asked how this was done.
It started with a simple photo of the saltire flying from a flagpole.
Far too ordinary for me to blip - - - so I duplicated it into 2 new layers and distorted them in different ways with the polar-coordinates tool then a bit of flip/rotate before combining them.
I then duplicated the combination, turned it to negative and flipped horizontally.
At some stage I remember using the photocopy filter and different merge modes.
An out-of-focus image of the bulb in my table-lamp was used to get the gradation of colours.
The whole was laid over a scaled-up copy of the original flag.
The texture was accidental - artefacts introduced by my prolonged messing about.

The whole process took over an hour and I don't think I could repeat exactly it if I tried.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.