A Widow’s Solace

Here you see a widow’s solace! A friend and neighbour knows what keeps the spirits up (no pun intended)after a bereavement. I haven’t got round to the gin so far, but the chocolates are disappearing fast.

I feel as though my head is a receptacle of mush as I try to contact various bodies by phone, who tell me after I have listened to endless muzak what a random collection of forms and identifications I need before I proceed. For the life of me I cannot find our marriage certificate and I’m beginning to wonder.........perhaps I’ve never really been married......... To prove I have, I’ve sent away for a copy. The proof of the pudding will be in the receiving of it.

However between His Lordship’s daughter and me, we have arranged his funeral and I feel a lot lighter in mind and purse for having done that. It’s open house folks, but don’t all rush.... the catering won’t cope afterwards.
Sandy always wanted a big party afterwards, particularly as he wouldn’t have to be there, but we have tempered it a bit.

Now where’s that gin?
I’ve just discovered that the bouquet of flowers yesterday from 17 year old grandson Seb, was bought with his dinner money... more tears.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.