You can't have your cake and eat it too.....

Also known as you can't have it both ways...

I got a message from my boss saying the pay package we have is going up but I need to sign the new contract. Something I learned long ago, never just sign something ALWAYS read it first...

So I stopped by her office, picked up the 7 page contract and headed to the truck and started reading.. After the third read through and having a zillion little questions that aren't really important and will be answered over time.. I only needed on clarification which lead to a MAJOR legal question.

Just like California, my home state of Washington sent every trucking company a clarification on the legal rules on truckers based in Washington. The second company I worked for lost a multi million dollar lawsuit over not paying the drivers right... Many other companies lost in court too..  So to make sure we are compliant.. this new pay package was developed..

My question was.."As I read the new pay package, if I work a 14 hour day, can't take my lunch at the 5th hour like the law says, I call a 1800 number and let them know, take my lunch at the 6th hour, call the 1800 number at the 11th hour and can't take my second lunch, take my second lunch at the 12 hour, I would be compliant of the law, compliant with company policy AND be paid and extra hour for the two lunches I "missed on time" correct?" I was told YES. That lead to this question "If I did this 5 days a week, I would be paid an extra 5 hours pay at $30 an hour correct?" the answer "IF you had 5 legitimate 14 hour work days then YES"    I told my boss that was nuts and will cause a LOT of unneeded downtime.. She agreed but that's the way it will be..  

After this conversation I got to thinking about the work contract I signed about how I am required to do my job. By contract a Seattle Washington to Hermiston Oregon with a one customer stop is a 14 hour day with a 13.5 hours on duty and the FEDERAL law lunch break of 30 minutes off duty.. Since I am now required to take TWO 30 minute off duty lunch breaks this leaves only 13 hours to do that run which is in conflict of the work contract I signed. This lead my boss to call the legal department and I have it in writing they are working on it as a contract CAN"T violate the law... 

So I bought a cake. Nothing like comfort food with a bonus blip thrown in...  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.