FOCUS

I initially thought I might try and do a collage of faces exhibiting various expressions as the work-team-bowling-pool night progressed but it's going to take too long and I want to get outside today. Here instead is Kieran, manager and exhibitor of weird intense expressions when lining up shots. I shall have to process more of the pictures to stick on the noticeboard in the office so a collage may yet be formed. I have some nice shots of Mr John Livingstone standing up with his trousers-tucked-into-socks which could bookend a collection of faces of which one of Lorraine looking disappointed when the machine misread a strike for a spare would be a good centre-point. The scoring machine also misinterpreted my initial 9 (good considering I slipped over on the slipperier-than-expected floor) for a 1 which meant that my final score was 125 rather than 115, considerably more respectable than the <100 I vaguely remember from last April's similar event which was the last time I bowled. Considering my arms felt like bits of damp string for the latter half of this week I thought I did OK though I did start to roll lots of gutterballs in a mini-contest with Livvo when the team competition ended. I was probably doing something entirely wrong by that point as I started catching the tip of my thumb on the thumb-hole upon release. As with lots of activities it would be very handy to see onesself performing the activity's action in order to see what differs between one's own technique and that of people who are considerably better though "not flailing about in an ungainly fashion" is the main point to work on as far as bowling, skating, snowboarding and any other balance-related activity I've attempted is concerned. I feel authorised to pass comment on the walking, running, swimming and cycling actions of others as those are things I can do (and the quantity of people exhibiting extremely strange running and jogging styles to be seen trotting around the city's green bits provide ample material) but don't really have much kinaesthetic finesse as regards techniques requiring full-body dexterity. Practise is obviously required but as I generally tend to only go bowling once every two years on average I'm pleased just to not have the lowest score.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.