Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Photobomb 2

Some of my bug folders are getting a bit out of control. My dragon folder has more than 500 images, the spider folder getting on for 400, the butterfly folder contains more than thirty different species! They are getting so large that I am afraid to open them, even though they are JPEG3 files. So yesterday I started breaking them down into species folders. This should solve the volume problem and make future repeat identifications a lot easier.

Separating into species is proving a lot more difficult than I thought it would, as some of the bugs look so similar. Some insects not only have different colors for male and female, but they also change color as they age, so what I thought was four or five different species of damsel, turns out to be one. This is going to take some time and effort, but worth it in the end - I think.

Today's blip, I was trying to photograph a tiny fungus when this medium sized ant photobombed me. It just shows how small the fungi was. I didn't nail the fungi with this shot, but it was just too good to throw away.

I tried a few 'eye shots' to follow up yesterday's blip, but it was far too windy for that sort of macro work. A difficult session.

Update - Haven't found an ID yet, but it is looking like a slime mold and not a fungi.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.