Sheepish Contraptioneer

By PaulCCB

Can You See This Driving Down The Highway?

What is it about my fascination with decrepit motor-homes?

And that I could see this as a product of my own labors in another life . . .

Truth is, we just happened to be peeking into back yards in an odd place today.
I had a dental appointment 110 miles away in Eugene, and we weren't in a particular hurry to get home, so I, being freeway-weary, suggested that we return home by old State Highway 99. And every little town that wasn't totally on the highway got a loop through so we could get a feel for the central business district, somewhat challenging since these little towns had been bypassed nearby by the Interstate Highway System in the 1960s.

But it was such a little town which survived "life after the freeway". The town divided by a river, and connected by a suspension foot bridge, which we saw in passing and decided to park and walk across, which led us through the back door into this neighborhood.

So, a trip for a tooth filling turned into a major vacation with my sweet bride, and we feel like we've been off together for a week.

And, maybe I don't have to build a motor-home any more!

~:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.